Home > Linux > My Ubuntu and Freedom

My Ubuntu and Freedom

My Ubuntu Screenshot, originally uploaded by theneoindian.

Hi buddies ,

This is my Ubuntu Desktop screenshot . It runs on Karmic Koala . I’am just testing flickr blog stuff . Anyway since this ended up on a post , I think I should write at least something . Look at the screenshot . Isn’t it coool ?? Anyway i think it is . Who said looks is only for windows and Linux is for the nerds (the social outcasts 😉 ) . I love Ubuntu and i’am passionate about it and all the FOSS ideologies .

Well , having a free OS is one thing while performace and productivity is another issue . Today’s Linux distros combine all of these and much more and Ubuntu is at the forefront of the campaign . It is great to be part of a movement that aspires to free humans from the bondages of corporate slavery and money mongers .

So what are you waiting for ? Just download a linux distro of your choice , burn it , install and get rid of the Windoze crap . At least you can be sure that one day you won’t happen to get booked under the Copyrights Act . That’s a huge consolation .

Think Free , Live Free. Freedom is all that matters !! ” – Myself .

Footnote : This article is under the GPL . Anybody can copy , read change (maybe not , if you change , please change the author to someone else ) or do whatever with it . 😉

Categories: Linux
  1. November 22, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    wel… ist smthin lyk the safest way to say u dont belong to the genre ‘nerds’..smart-ass ;-)…. kiddin mate …btw sexy desktop (cld hav been much sexier ..guz u kno wht i mean );-) … keep postin 🙂

  2. vijay
    January 7, 2010 at 2:20 pm

    well great work,keep posting buddy keep supporting open source keep promoting it,..

  3. January 13, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    the only gripe i have with ubuntu is istallation of applications.. i mean isnt thr an easier way.. hd a tough time time trying to install songbird nd chrome..

    • January 13, 2010 at 6:08 pm

      @Darshan if u ask me , one of the best things i like about Ubuntu is the Synaptic packaging system .. At least for me , installing packages were kinda like breeze . for google products , i suggest adding the Google linux repo , so dat updates may also be available for ’em ..

  4. July 12, 2010 at 10:51 am

    One big problem with the Open source technologies ( for me ) is that they are not supported by some of the software you come across frequently . For example I have to use Macromedia Dreamweaver almost every day and it does not have a linux alternative. When I want to connect my BSNL WLL with linux, again I get disappointed. BSNL does not provide any such driver at all . Richard Stallman when once visited Kerala , had the courage to tell BSNL people that if you dont have drivers for ma linux , I am not gonna use your Internet. We still lack that courage.

    • July 12, 2010 at 1:17 pm

      I’ve been using Dreamweaver , Flash and Fotoshop (all CS3 by de way )in Ubuntu with WINE for a long time . And about the WLL , I’ve also used BSNL WLL with Linux . It is already supported . You don’t need a separate driver . The generic modem driver works well !!

      • July 14, 2010 at 5:06 am

        Wow !! I need a great deal of help from you . Lemme google WINE first

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

